tag nameglibc-2.21 (dee233133daf497cdb3a507a7da9d88414820a1f)
tag date2015-02-06 01:42:58 -0500
tagged byCarlos O'Donell <>
tagged objectcommit 4e42b5b8f8...
The GNU C Library
================= The GNU C Library version 2.21 is now available. The GNU C Library is used as *the* C library in the GNU system and in GNU/Linux systems, as well as many other systems that use Linux as the kernel. The GNU C Library is primarily designed to be a portable and high performance C library. It follows all relevant standards including ISO C11 and POSIX.1-2008. It is also internationalized and has one of the most complete internationalization interfaces known. The GNU C Library webpage is at Packages for the 2.21 release may be downloaded from: The mirror list is at NEWS for version 2.21 ===================== * The following bugs are resolved with this release: 6652, 10672, 12674, 12847, 12926, 13862, 14132, 14138, 14171, 14498, 15215, 15378, 15884, 16009, 16418, 16191, 16469, 16576, 16617, 16618, 16619, 16657, 16740, 16857, 17192, 17266, 17273, 17344, 17363, 17370, 17371, 17411, 17460, 17475, 17485, 17501, 17506, 17508, 17522, 17555, 17570, 17571, 17572, 17573, 17574, 17582, 17583, 17584, 17585, 17589, 17594, 17601, 17608, 17616, 17625, 17630, 17633, 17634, 17635, 17647, 17653, 17657, 17658, 17664, 17665, 17668, 17682, 17702, 17717, 17719, 17722, 17723, 17724, 17725, 17732, 17733, 17744, 17745, 17746, 17747, 17748, 17775, 17777, 17780, 17781, 17782, 17791, 17793, 17796, 17797, 17801, 17803, 17806, 17834, 17844, 17848, 17868, 17869, 17870, 17885, 17892. * CVE-2015-1472 Under certain conditions wscanf can allocate too little memory for the to-be-scanned arguments and overflow the allocated buffer. The implementation now correctly computes the required buffer size when using malloc. * A new semaphore algorithm has been implemented in generic C code for all machines. Previous custom assembly implementations of semaphore were difficult to reason about or ensure that they were safe. The new version of semaphore supports machines with 64-bit or 32-bit atomic operations. The new semaphore algorithm is used by sem_init, sem_open, sem_post, sem_wait, sem_timedwait, sem_trywait, and sem_getvalue. * Port to Altera Nios II has been contributed by Mentor Graphics. * Optimized strcpy, stpcpy, strncpy, stpncpy, strcmp, and strncmp implementations for powerpc64/powerpc64le. Implemented by Adhemerval Zanella (IBM). * Added support for TSX lock elision of pthread mutexes on powerpc32, powerpc64 and powerpc64le. This may improve lock scaling of existing programs on HTM capable systems. The lock elision code is only enabled with --enable-lock-elision=yes. Also, the TSX lock elision implementation for powerpc will issue a transaction abort on every syscall to avoid side effects being visible outside transactions. * Optimized strcpy, stpcpy, strchrnul and strrchr implementations for AArch64. Contributed by ARM Ltd. * i386 memcpy functions optimized with SSE2 unaligned load/store. * CVE-2104-7817 The wordexp function could ignore the WRDE_NOCMD flag under certain input conditions resulting in the execution of a shell for command substitution when the applicaiton did not request it. The implementation now checks WRDE_NOCMD immediately before executing the shell and returns the error WRDE_CMDSUB as expected. * CVE-2012-3406 printf-style functions could run into a stack overflow when processing format strings with a large number of format specifiers. * CVE-2014-9402 The nss_dns implementation of getnetbyname could run into an infinite loop if the DNS response contained a PTR record of an unexpected format. * The minimum GCC version that can be used to build this version of the GNU C Library is GCC 4.6. Older GCC versions, and non-GNU compilers, can still be used to compile programs using the GNU C Library. * The GNU C Library is now built with -Werror by default. This can be disabled by configuring with --disable-werror. * New locales: tu_IN, bh_IN, raj_IN, ce_RU. * The obsolete sigvec function has been removed. This was the original 4.2BSD interface that inspired the POSIX.1 sigaction interface, which programs have been using instead for about 25 years. Of course, ABI compatibility for old binaries using sigvec remains intact. * Merged gettext 0.19.3 into the intl subdirectory. This fixes building with newer versions of bison. * Support for MIPS o32 FPXX, FP64A and FP64 ABI Extensions. The original MIPS o32 hard-float ABI requires an FPU where double-precision registers overlay two consecutive single-precision registers. MIPS32R2 introduced a new FPU mode (FR=1) where double-precision registers extend the corresponding single-precision registers which is incompatible with the o32 hard-float ABI. The MIPS SIMD ASE and the MIPSR6 architecture both require the use of FR=1 making a transition necessary. New o32 ABI extensions enable users to migrate over time from the original o32 ABI through to the updated o32 FP64 ABI. To achieve this the dynamic linker now tracks the ABI of any loaded object and verifies that new objects are compatible. Mode transitions will also be requested as required and unsupportable objects will be rejected. The ABI checks include both soft and hard float ABIs for o32, n32 and n64. GCC 5 with GNU binutils 2.25 onwards: It is strongly recommended that all o32 system libraries are built using the new o32 FPXX ABI (-mfpxx) to facilitate the transition as this is compatible with the original and all new o32 ABI extensions. Configure a MIPS GCC compiler using --with-fp-32=xx to set this by default. Contributors ============ This release was made possible by the contributions of many people. The maintainers are grateful to everyone who has contributed changes or bug reports. These include: Adhemerval Zanella Alan Hayward Alexandre Oliva Allan McRae Anders Kaseorg Andreas Krebbel Andreas Schwab Andrew Pinski Andrew Senkevich Anton Blanchard Arjun Shankar Aurelien Jarno Bram Brooks Moses Carlos O'Donell Chris Metcalf Chung-Lin Tang David Holsgrove David S. Miller Eric Biggers Florian Weimer Gratian Crisan H.J. Lu J. Brown James Lemke Jeff Law Jose E. Marchesi Joseph Myers Kaz Kojima Kostya Serebryany Leonhard Holz Ma Shimiao Maciej W. Rozycki Marcus Shawcroft Marek Polacek Martin Sebor Matthew Fortune Mike Frysinger Ondřej Bílka Paul Eggert Paul Pluzhnikov Petar Jovanovic Pravin Satpute Rajalakshmi Srinivasaraghavan Rasmus Villemoes Renlin Li Richard Earnshaw Richard Henderson Roland McGrath Ryan Cumming Samuel Thibault Siddhesh Poyarekar Stefan Liebler Steve Ellcey Tatiana Udalova Tim Lammens Tom de Vries Torvald Riegel Vladimir A. Nazarenko Wilco Dijkstra Will Newton -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE----- Version: GnuPG v1 iQEcBAABAgAGBQJU1GKVAAoJECXvCkNsKkr/4IYIAMfU5+NN2z44R2SeRlH+bSZG rGCF7rUzUOY+ePVNdgOH2cUKfxuLyMU6aao/IVQ863VHW1Ct/x2goVU22oqnVmvP FeElVxZyzx7iCqipqyaobj0Fm/b563/4yQ+BEOjH39Sj5Ii5kY6PcQQslMJWIH5R /nHmO048ZAlx/vGWTczAR50HOW1z8H1gilWm8SBkq2BJ8UndhSXCVpThCdMGfeBF NUxUl2aSt3eghA0SWD3WgRzRR0vU9RHuNQ5k5ggjjRPtipa8DP04t0Bk7/QiLhj1 M2upSS7r4ceZZuFGX8oYVn3f0lTajpOOeuX7SBnKIgQ8cDXtSHST6yPMAbsJRB4= =odoa -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----